Independent Spirit Awards 2020: And the winners are:

Best feature – The Farewell

Best female lead – Renee Zellweger, Judy

Best male lead – Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Best supporting female – Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell

Best supporting male – Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse

Best director – Benny and Josh Safdie, Uncut Gems

Best first feature – Booksmart

Best screenplay – Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story

Best first screenplay – Fredrica Bailey and Stefon Bristol, See You Yesterday

Best documentary – American Factory

Best international film – Parasite

Best editing – Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems

Best cinematography  – Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse

John Cassavetes Award  – Give Me Liberty

Robert Altman Award – Marriage Story

Piaget Producers Award  – Mollye Asher

Someone To Watch – Rashaad Ernesto Green – Premature

Truer Than Fiction Award – Nadia Shihab – Jaddoland