Independent Spirit Awards 2021

Independent Spirit Awards 2021 – winners in full

  • Best feature– Nomadland
  • Best first feature – Sound of Metal
  • Best male lead– Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal
  • Best female lead– Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman
  • Best supporting male– Paul Raci, Sound of Metal
  • Best supporting female– Yuh-Jung Youn, Minari
  • Best director– Chloe Zhao, Nomadland
  • Best screenplay– Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
  • Best first screenplay – Andy Siara, Palm Springs
  • John Cassavetes Award (best feature made for under $500,000/¬£364,000) – La Leyanda Negra
  • Best cinematography– Joshua James Richards, Nomadland
  • Best editing– Chloe Zhao, Nomadland
  • Best international film– Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  • Best documentary– Crip Camp
  • Robert Altman Award (given to one film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast) – One Night in Miami
  • Producers Award– Gerry Kim
  • Someone to Watch Award– Ekwa Msangi, director of Farewell Amor
  • Truer Than Fiction Award (given to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition) – Elegance Bratton, director of Pier Kids
  • Best new non-scripted or documentary series – Immigration Nation
  • Best new scripted series– I May Destroy You
  • Best female performance in a scripted series– Shira Haas, Unorthodox
  • Best male performance in a new scripted series– Amit Rahav, Unorthodox
  • Best ensemble cast in a new scripted series– I May Destroy You

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s