Foreign Language

Screen Shot 2014-12-20 at 17.43.53The best Foreign Language Film at the 91st Academy Awards was Mexico’s “Roma” directed by Alfonso Cuarón. It will be the last film to win in this category as for the 92nd Awards in 2020 the category is being renamed International Feature Film Award.

The five nominated films for the Foreign Language Film category for the 91st Academy Awards in 2019 were:

  • “Capernaum” Lebanon
  • “Cold War” Poland
  • “Never Look Away” Germany
  • “Roma” Mexico
  • “Shoplifters” Japan

For 2020, the Foreign Language Film category name has been changed to International Feature Film.

An International Festure Film is defined as a feature-length motion picture (over 40 minutes) produced outside the United States of America with a predominantly non-English dialogue track. Animated and documentary feature films are permitted.

Foreign Language Film nominations are determined in two phases:

  1. The Phase I Foreign Language Film Award Committee views all the eligible submissions in the category and votes by secret ballot. The group’s top seven choices, augmented by three additional selections voted by the Academy’s International Feature Film Award Executive Committee, constitute the shortlist of ten films.
  2. The Phase II the International Feature Film Award Committee views the ten shortlisted films and votes by secret ballot to determine the category’s five nominees.
  3. Final voting for the International Feature Film Award is restricted to active and life Academy members who have viewed all five motion pictures nominated for the award.

“We have noted that the reference to ‘Foreign’ is outdated within the global filmmaking community,” commented on the name change Larry Karaszewski and Diane Weyermann, co-chairs of the International Feature Film Committee. “We believe that International Feature Film better represents this category, and promotes a positive and inclusive view of filmmaking, and the art of film as a universal experience.”

87 countries submitted films for consideration in the Foreign Language Film category for the 91st Academy Awards:

  • Afghanistan, “Rona Azim’s Mother,” Jamshid Mahmoudi, director;
  • Algeria, “Until the End of Time,” Yasmine Chouikh, director;
  • Argentina, “El Ángel,” Luis Ortega, director;
  • Armenia, “Spitak,” Alexander Kott, director;
  • Australia, “Jirga,” Benjamin Gilmour, director;
  • Austria, “The Waldheim Waltz,” Ruth Beckermann, director;
  • Bangladesh, “No Bed of Roses,” Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, director;
  • Belarus, “Crystal Swan,” Darya Zhuk, director;
  • Belgium, “Girl,” Lukas Dhont, director;
  • Bolivia, “The Goalkeeper,” Rodrigo “Gory” Patiño, director;
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Never Leave Me,” Aida Begić, director;
  • Brazil, “The Great Mystical Circus,” Carlos Diegues, director;
  • Bulgaria, “Omnipresent,” Ilian Djevelekov, director;
  • Cambodia, “Graves without a Name,” Rithy Panh, director;
  • Canada, “Family Ties,” Sophie Dupuis, director;
  • Chile, “…And Suddenly the Dawn,” Silvio Caiozzi, director;
  • China, “Hidden Man,” Jiang Wen, director;
  • Colombia, “Birds of Passage,” Cristina Gallego, Ciro Guerra, directors;
  • Costa Rica, “Medea,” Alexandra Latishev, director;
  • Croatia, “The Eighth Commissioner,” Ivan Salaj, director;
  • Czech Republic, “Winter Flies,” Olmo Omerzu, director;
  • Denmark, “The Guilty,” Gustav Möller, director;
  • Dominican Republic, “Cocote,” Nelson Carlo De Los Santos Arias, director;
  • Ecuador, “A Son of Man,” Jamaicanoproblem, director;
  • Egypt, “Yomeddine,” A.B. Shawky, director;
  • Estonia, “Take It or Leave It,” Liina Trishkina-Vanhatalo, director;
  • Finland, “Euthanizer,” Teemu Nikki, director;
  • France, “Memoir of War,” Emmanuel Finkiel, director;
  • Georgia, “Namme,” Zaza Khalvashi, director;
  • Germany, “Never Look Away,” Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, director;
  • Greece, “Polyxeni,” Dora Masklavanou, director;
  • Hong Kong, “Operation Red Sea,” Dante Lam, director;
  • Hungary, “Sunset,” László Nemes, director;
  • Iceland, “Woman at War,” Benedikt Erlingsson, director;
  • India, “Village Rockstars,” Rima Das, director;
  • Indonesia, “Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts,” Mouly Surya, director;
  • Iran, “No Date, No Signature,” Vahid Jalilvand, director;
  • Iraq, “The Journey,” Mohamed Jabarah Al-Daradji, director;
  • Israel, “The Cakemaker,” Ofir Raul Graizer, director;
  • Italy, “Dogman,” Matteo Garrone, director;
  • Japan, “Shoplifters,” Hirokazu Kore-eda, director;
  • Kazakhstan, “Ayka,” Sergey Dvortsevoy, director;
  • Kenya, “Supa Modo,” Likarion Wainaina, director;
  • Kosovo, “The Marriage,” Blerta Zeqiri, director;
  • Latvia, “To Be Continued,” Ivars Seleckis, director;
  • Lebanon, “Capernaum,” Nadine Labaki, director;
  • Lithuania, “Wonderful Losers: A Different World,” Arunas Matelis, director;
  • Luxembourg, “Gutland,” Govinda Van Maele, director;
  • Macedonia, “Secret Ingredient,” Gjorce Stavreski, director;
  • Malawi, “The Road to Sunrise,” Shemu Joyah, director;
  • Mexico, “Roma,” Alfonso Cuarón, director;
  • Montenegro, “Iskra,” Gojko Berkuljan, director;
  • Morocco, “Burnout,” Nour-Eddine Lakhmari, director;
  • Nepal, “Panchayat,” Shivam Adhikari, director;
  • Netherlands, “The Resistance Banker,” Joram Lürsen, director;
  • New Zealand, “Yellow Is Forbidden,” Pietra Brettkelly, director;
  • Niger, “The Wedding Ring,” Rahmatou Keïta, director;
  • Norway, “What Will People Say,” Iram Haq, director;
  • Pakistan, “Cake,” Asim Abbasi, director;
  • Palestine, “Ghost Hunting,” Raed Andoni, director;
  • Panama, “Ruben Blades Is Not My Name,” Abner Benaim, director;
  • Paraguay, “The Heiresses,” Marcelo Martinessi, director;
  • Peru, “Eternity,” Oscar Catacora, director;
  • Philippines, “Signal Rock,” Chito S. Roño, director;
  • Poland, “Cold War,” Pawel Pawlikowski, director;
  • Portugal, “Pilgrimage,” João Botelho, director;
  • Romania, “I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians,” Radu Jude, director;
  • Russia, “Sobibor,” Konstantin Khabensky, director;
  • Serbia, “Offenders,” Dejan Zecevic, director;
  • Singapore, “Buffalo Boys,” Mike Wiluan, director;
  • Slovakia, “The Interpreter,” Martin Šulík, director;
  • Slovenia, “Ivan,” Janez Burger, director;
  • South Africa, “Sew the Winter to My Skin,” Jahmil X.T. Qubeka, director;
  • South Korea, “Burning,” Lee Chang-dong, director;
  • Spain, “Champions,” Javier Fesser, director;
  • Sweden, “Border,” Ali Abbasi, director;
  • Switzerland, “Eldorado,” Markus Imhoof, director;
  • Taiwan, “The Great Buddha+,” Hsin-Yao Huang, director;
  • Thailand, “Malila The Farewell Flower,” Anucha Boonyawatana, director;
  • Tunisia, “Beauty and the Dogs,” Kaouther Ben Hania, director;
  • Turkey, “The Wild Pear Tree,” Nuri Bilge Ceylan, director;
  • Ukraine, “Donbass,” Sergei Loznitsa, director;
  • United Kingdom, “I Am Not a Witch,” Rungano Nyoni, director;
  • Uruguay, “Twelve-Year Night,” Álvaro Brechner, director;
  • Venezuela, “The Family,” Gustavo Rondón Córdova, director;
  • Vietnam, “The Tailor,” Buu Loc Tran, Kay Nguyen, directors;
  • Yemen, “10 Days before the Wedding,” Amr Gamal, director